Healthy and Simple Recipes: Yummy French Toast

french-toast-6-450

Okay, so we’re always looking for something yummy to eat around here without consuming too many calories. In case you haven’t heard, I lived the first fifty years of my life pretty much creating slop in the kitchen.

Then I met my best friend Wanda, and under her tutelage, I have blossomed into a fledgling cook. But a pretty lazy one. If a dish has more than five ingredients, I’ll probably never make it.

So here’s a recipe for low-cal French toast to warm your tummy on a snowy winter morning. (Did I mention we’ve had 100 INCHES of snow here in MIchigan this winter?And it’s almost April and it’s snowing AGAIN today.)

Ingredients:

2 slices of 35 calorie bread (I use whole wheat)
2 large eggs
cinnamon to taste
1/3 C. skim milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 packet Stevia/Truvia
Mrs. Butterworth’s Sugar Free Syrup (20 calories per 1/4 cup)

Directions:

Whisk eggs. Add all other ingredients except for syrup and mix well. Soak bread on both sides in mixture and grill in non-stick pan sprayed with Pam. Cook until golden brown. Spray with zero calorie I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter and serve with warm syrup.

Makes one serving. Total calories 195

Photo credit: realmomkitchen.com

Leave a Reply

