The Look of Love

My son Nate and his precious son Gabriel

I’m glad to announce that I can finally claim a new, longed-for title: Grandma.

My son Nate and his wife Allison welcomed their first child, Gabriel Daniel, into their home in June. Can I just say that I adore my precious grandson? And it takes every ounce of self-control not to devote all of my Facebook space to telling the world how beautiful he is.

I can’t help but be reminded that my husband Dan’s and my love for baby Gabe is but a glimmer of God’s great love for us. As Dan and I sit ogling over pictures of our grand baby, looking for opportunities to flash his precious face in front of someone, I know we reflect God’s heart for each of us as His children.

We can’t imagine the love of God the Father as He communicates His affection for us to Jesus, His Son. And I know that God longs for nothing more than to draw us close to Him and have us look into his face with the trust and openness of a father holding his own precious child.

Ponder that today as you think of God’s great and precious and very intimate love for you.

Leave a Reply

