New Trauma Blog Launched

This week several friends and I launched a new blog on the topic of trauma at http://ptsdtraumahopehealing.com/. Over the past two years, I’ve become increasingly interested in the topic of trauma, and I’ve been privileged to get to know some of the best trauma therapists in the world and see the results of their work in the lives of my closest friends.

And every day as I watch the news. read Facebook posts, talk to growing numbers of hurting friends and relatives, and listen to the sounds of emergency vehicles racing past my window, my sense of urgency grows.

An epidemic of untreated trauma has gripped our nation. We busy ourselves treating its symptoms–addictions, eating disorders, self-abusive behaviors, compulsions, etc. and entertain ourselves watching people on television struggle through the symptoms in endless cycles: Hoarders, Intervention, Biggest Loser, Celebrity Rehab, and numerous other shows.

But we seldom treat the root cause: trauma.

I invite you to join me and my friends (the Trauma Queens) and share your trauma story. Many of us have found hope and healing through effective treatments.

Some of us have walked through lifetimes of frustration seeking help for the wrong thing first in treatment centers and counseling that address peripheral issues. And many of us have been shamed for not “getting over” our trauma sooner and seeking treatment.

We’ve developed relationships with some of the nation’s top trauma experts. We’re making connections with organizations involved in human trafficking. Next week my associate and I will be speaking at a nationally-recognized agency that is launching an initiative for children who have been trafficked.

We invite you to become part of the community of hope on Facebook as well at PTSD Trauma Hope and Healing (https://www.facebook.com/PtsdTraumaHopeAndHealing).

If you know someone who’s experienced a crisis where their life was threatened or someone they loved was threatened and they struggle with symptoms of PTSD, please tell them there IS hope.

If you know someone whose baby underwent invasive medical procedures as an infant before 1986 and now struggles with symptoms of PTSD, please tell them about our blog. The medical community did not believe that babies experienced pain before the mid- to late 1980s and often did surgery on infants without painkillers or anesthesia. Many of those children today suffer with symptoms of PTSD and are unaware of its relationships to their childhood trauma and, more importantly, that effective treatment is available.

Few things areImage as exciting as seeing someone without hope find it again. Those who struggle in cycles of addiction, self-abuse, depression, suicidal thoughts, and other behaviors often live without hope.

The truth can set you free.

12 thoughts on “New Trauma Blog Launched

  1. This is great Shelly. I find that trauma is a big factor in most of what my clients deal with, and that they don’t recognize how past trauma significantly effects their lives. There is healing that needs to take place before they can move on. Yes, there is hope.

    I’ve been involved with End Slavery Tennessee doing some work on human trafficking as a community educator. There aren’t many therapists or other professionals who are working with those who have been trafficked and the need for this is only going to grow. I’m hoping to see some specialized training develop for working with these individuals.

    I’ll be looking forward to future posts on your blog about trauma.

    • Thanks so much, Sue. Next week Wanda and I are speaking about trauma and PTSD at a facility the specializes in the care of children. They’re launching a new initiative on trafficking of children here in Michigan. Unfortunately you’re right, the problem is escalating and will continue to grow. Look forward to input from you in the future.

      • Shelly, I asked you some questions on your response on my blog.

        I am interested in your methods and success. What tips can you share with my audience that could help. I have a specific plan now, but I tried everything before finding meditation or mindfulness and acceptance.

        Complex childhood trauma can be so intertwined to childhood development that first I think we need to untangle this mess.

        I often say that we do not even know what a loving supportive childhood looks like.

        Nice to find your site and share some wisdom or thoughts anyway.

        I find that PTSD robs the soul of humor.

        I wrote a sentence the other day,

        Wisdom is the only thing I save from my last.

        marty

      • Thank you for doing this for all of us. I have been in and out of therapy several times, once for about 10 years. It is not that they didn’t care or want to help but that they just didn’t get it, neither did I. I have finally found a therapist who does, although it took us a couple of years to figure it out. Severe abuse at a very young age changes you in ways that we can sometimes get pretty good at hiding, as long as no one gets too close, spends too much time with us, and knows what to look for.

        I attended one of your conferences in the past and found great comfort in noticing that I am not as alone as I thought I was.
        Thank you for all that you do.
        Linda

      • It’s wonderful to hear from you, Linda. Thank you for sharing a bit of your story with us. How encouraging to hear that you’ve found help that is moving you forward in your healing. Praying that you find continued healing and grace for your journey in the days ahead. Hugs, Shelly

    • I visited your site and left a comment, Marty. It’s very well done and offers great resources. Thank you for community, encouragement, and support you offer. I hope to hear from you again in the future.

  2. thank you and PTSD is epidemic, not enough of us positive action sites available.

    Keep up the good work and let’s find avenues where we can help each other as we support others.

    Marty

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement, Suresh. We hope to add materials and resources regularly and encourage people to post their stories.

    • Thanks so much. I’m happy to say you’ll be seeing more frequent posts beginning this month.

Leave a Reply

