Morningsong Launched

Making friends at the launch of Morningsong

Making friends at the launch of Morningsong

In spite of seeing smaller-than-expected crowds at the Dallas Christian Book Expo in March, I’ll have to admit that I had a fabulous time meeting new readers and chatting with folks who are fans of Hallie’s Heart. Take me anywhere and I’ll find friends and friends of friends, and the Book Expo was no exception.

During my free time I had the opportunity to chat with readers, retailers, and beloved friends in the publishing world. It was a special treat to enjoy the Picnic with the Authors venue offered by my Advanced Speakers and Writers Association and have the privilege of hearing many of my gifted AWSA sisters speak. For those of you looking for gifted conference speakers who speak nationally and internally on a wide range of subjects, be sure to check out the AWSA website.

 The Expo also provided an opportunity for me to spend time with a number of folks who came to the event looking for good books but who also needed one-on-one encouragement. I was privileged to be able to do signings for Ambushed by Grace: Help and Hope on the Caregiving Journey and found people thirsty for a listening ear and a word of hope.

I’m especially excited about the launch of Morningsong, a book that deals with the realities of struggling with chronic illness, as well as the challenges of families entangled in cycles of addiction. The book is written with the same accessible, humorous, yet approachable tone that makes it an appropriate and quick read for a teenager or adult. It presents heavy-hitting themes with a touch of grace. In conferences where I speak and reference Morningsong, people often purchase it to give to family members as a summer read or as a gift, hoping to use it as one means of broaching the difficult subject of addiction wrapped in a faith-based story of hope.

So I’m off to Seattle next, to speak at Warm Beach Christian Camp and Conference Center with the amazing and awesome Thelma Wells the weekend of April 24-25 and May 1-2. If you’re in the Stanwood, Washington, area, come on out to hear Mama T and me (I love the sound of that). I’ll be speaking on “The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk,” my upcoming June release. But more about that later.

4 thoughts on “Morningsong Launched

  1. I finished Hallie’s Heart a few weeks ago. It was a lovely read! I probably could have read it in just two sittings, but I chose to linger over your beautiful word choices and your fine craftsmanship. You have a gift for bringing light and hope to some of the most difficult circumstances people face. Can’t wait to read Morningsong!

    • Thanks, Suzie. I’m so glad you enjoyed the book. I’m so excited to see how God will use Morningsong in people’s lives. I’ve already received a number of responses because the story touches on topics of addiction, forgiveness, and chronic illness. Hope in Jesus is always my central message.

  2. It was so fun to meet you… (I am the one who didn’t like you 🙂 ) I can’t wait for your self-talk book…went to weight watchers today and the same theme was the topic of the day…ha..think the Lord is trying to tell me something?????
    Enjoyed you so much at women’s retreat..wish I could have learned more from you..maybe next year 🙂 however I don’t frequent women’s retreat..this was something very different for me 🙂

    • Jackie, it was great meeting you, too. As someone who’s lost seventy pounds, gained back twelve, and am now working to take those twelve back off again, I have to remind myself every day that God’s mercies and grace are new every morning. I’m not in some spiral of defeat beyond my control, like Satan would like me to believe. The Spirit of God gives me the power to live joyously and with contentment, in spite of my circumstances. I’ve always loved Weight Watchers’ approach toward good foods and better foods instead of teaching the good food/bad food view. As a diabetic, I still enjoy cake and desserts–smaller portions that I balance with my other foods.

      I’d love to see you next year at Warm Beach. I can promise that Babbie will be a blessing. And I’ll be there with more seminars–looking for your smilin’ face and that cute yellow jacket.

Leave a Reply

